What to Bring to Your Nevada Driving Test
When you arrive at a Nevada DMV office for a Nevada driving test, there are several things that you must bring as a teen driver. This post will list everything that the Nevada DMV requires:
1. Parent or Guardian: this is an obvious one, but all teen drivers under the age of 18 years old must bring a parent or guardian with them at the time they are taking the driving skills test in Nevada. The parent or guardian must be present to sign the Financial Responsibility Statement and the Affidavit for Minor to be Licensed. These are Nevada DMV forms that are required before a teen driver can take the skills test.
2. Instruction Permit: A Nevada Instruction Permit is also required at the time of the test. The teen driver should already have had this for at least six months, at which time they should have at least 50-hours of driving experience with their parent.
3. Proof of Identity: your Nevada DMV instruction permit will establish your identity. If you do not have one, you can find other acceptable documents to establish your identity here: http://dmvnv.com/dlresidency.htm
4. Driver’s Education Certificate: when you complete a Nevada DMV 30-hour driver’s ed course, you will be given a certificate of completion. This drivers ed certificate will be given to the Nevada DMV as proof that you completed the course.
5. Completed Beginning Driver Experience Log (DLD130): This is your driving experience log that must show you have completed 50-hours of driving experience with at least 10 of those hours completed during the hours of darkness.
6. Application for Driving Privileges: This form can be found here: http://dmvnv.com/pdfforms/dmv002en.pdf – there is a place for the parent to authorize a teen driver to drive.
7. Vehicle with Valid Registration and Current Insurance: This is obvious. You will need a registered and insured vehicle to take your test. Keep in mind that you can use any vehicle in the class of the Nevada drivers license you are seeking but you cannot use a rental car. Make sure that the vehicle you use is safe in that the brake lights, headlights, horn, turn signals are all operational. Also, the tires should be in good condition and there should be no cracks or other things on the windshield that could impair your vision. The Nevada DMV examiner will conduct a brief safety inspection of the vehicle before you proceed with the driving skills test.
8. Certification of Attendance (DMV301): this is a new law that went into effect in January of 2016. You must have this form signed by the school principal or designated school official that verifies your attendance is acceptable to the DMV. The form can be found here: http://dmvnv.com/pdfforms/dmv301.pdf
Be sure to bring all the above items (and people) to the Nevada DMV at the time of your test. Completing these forms prior to your testing date and time will ensure a less stressful experience when you arrive. Nothing is worse than scheduling a driving test only to find that you forgot to bring something with you! This will mean rescheduling your test and a longer wait to get your Nevada drivers license.